That’s A Good Question

Bro. Steven A. Fulton PM

How does Freemasonry make good men better? This is a question often asked by a well respected Mason in our district who has a passion for Masonic education. It seems to be a simple question that you would think could be answered relatively easy, and for new members or someone inquiring about joining the Fraternity, we need to be able to answer the question clearly and without the typical sales pitch that can be read in every Masonic brochure published.

So, I started thinking about what my answer would be and what would be the easiest way of explaining it to someone, particularly someone who is not familiar with Masonic language. I started a discussion on the topic at lodge practice one evening, where we came up with several ways that Freemasonry has bettered our lives. One example was shared by both the Worshipful Master of our lodge and myself, which concerned the relationship differences with our respective ladies pre masonry and currently. We both agreed that if you would ask either of them, they would quickly respond that they prefer the man who is now a mason. But even after this very productive exchange between a few of the brethren, I still didn’t have the answer I was looking for. So, I turned to the internet searching the theme, reading article after article with the same familiar cliches. Then it dawned on me, like most things in Freemasonry it was right in front of me. The Brother who originally asked me the question, who undoubtedly has his own answer, was encouraging me to come up with an answer on my own, or simply put, think about it. After all, isn’t one of Freemasonry’s main attributes that it makes you think and look at the subject in hand from different perspectives. Just because Freemasonry has helped me improve myself in a certain way does not mean that others will be affected in the same manner. We must apply it’s teachings to our own individual lives especially in those areas where we struggle the most.

Maybe I made a seemingly simple question more difficult then it needed to be, but it is a valid one that should be answered in your own personal way. My response when asked will be that Freemasonry gives you all the tools you need to improve yourself, all you need to do is apply them to your life, and it will be up to you when and if you choose to do so. Through its teachings you will become a better man, but only if you desire to be better.

We would like to hear from you. What is your response to how does Freemasonry make good men better? And How has Freemasonry changed your life?

2 thoughts on “That’s A Good Question

Add yours

  1. Sounds like a great theme! Lol. You are certainly on the right track. You haven’t made it more than it is, it is the fundamental reason that “we are “. It is even more than this at times and to me you nailed it as far as the tools and the path. But what is a journey without a destination? Can we walk the path alone? Who will provide the questions for those coming behind? Will their paths be easier, harder, of the same? Nuts and bolts, my Brother.

    Like

  2. I just re-read this and for the second time, I felt a little flutter of appreciation. A slight chill reminiscent of watching a child succeed in a struggle. A warmth of acceptance. And a desire for myself to get back on track on my Masonic Passions. Thank you, Steve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

