Mentoring From Above

Bro. Steven A. Fulton P.M.
Your year as Worshipful Master will be over before you know it, make sure you are prepared so you will be able to enjoy it. These words and many more came from my mentor. I have been very fortunate to have several mentors thus far in my Masonic journey, but if the question was asked to me “who is your mentor”? One name stands out.
His work ethic stood out from the start. I was amazed at the amount of time he put into learning the work, not only for Blue Lodge but for a few of the appendant bodies also. He instilled in me from the start that it would not be easy, but like all things in life, if you agree to do it, you must do it to the best of your ability.
I will always be thankful for his willingness to spend time with me; nights after work, weekends, at his lodge, at my lodge, wherever and whenever it was possible for us to meet. Although we spent much of our time on lodge details, the lessons he taught me were much more than ritual, he taught me how to be a Mason. Those of you, who truly know what it means to be a Mason, know how grateful I am that he showed me the path.
Tom was there when I was installed as Worshipful Master, and that would be the last time he would visit our lodge. I spoke with him a few times before he had to go, and he told me that he had beaten cancer before, but he wasn’t sure if he would again, he passed in March 2015. Although he never got to attend a meeting at my lodge while I was Master, I know he was proud of my progress and proud to be my mentor. The valuable lessons he taught me I used throughout my year as Master, and in my everyday life as a Mason. The friendship we shared will never be forgotten and will always be cherished.
Merry Christmas Tom, you will forever be My Mentor, My Friend, and My Brother.
In remembrance of Thomas K. Pilston P.M.
If you have or had a special mentor in your life, I would like to hear from you.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

